Cheap Trick – “Tonight It’s You” (1985) – 7″ Single (The Cheap Trick Collection Series – Bonus Edition)

The Cheap Trick Collection Series is about all things in my collection that are Cheap Trick related and this time around we are looking at a 7″ Single I picked up over the past year. The single is for the song “Tonight It’s You” off their album ‘Standing on the Edge which we reviewed last week. The song was the only single off the album and sadly, it didn’t break the Top 40, stalling out at #44. The song was written by Rick Nielsen, Robin Zander, Jon Brant and the song doctor Mark Radice who we talked about during the album review.

The Single is an edited and re-mixed version of the album cutting off over a minute of run time. The album version sits at around 4:47 and the Single edit is at 3:10. Basically they cut off a lot of the end that is repetitive as well as tightening it up to fit the short attention spans of the radio listener. The B-Side is off the same album and is the final song called “Wild Wild Women”.

My version is the standard U.S. Single, nothing special. I do love the cover and how it is the album cover but using the orange tint. Not original, but still looks good.


When reviewing the album, this is what I said…”There is no doubt this is the best song on the album. It is a little jangly and very heavily Beatles influenced. It might be Robin’s best vocal performance on the album as well. The minute you hear it, you know it is heads & shoulders above anything else on the album. The keyboards on here are used to perfection and not overblown with noises. The song is part power ballad and part power pop and full on magic.” The song is so much more.

There are so many good lines in the song that get to the heart of the song. The song is about a man’s desire to be with this woman. The line “You don’t know what it feels like loving you” just screams desperation while “Come to my world
Come away with me” is so romantic as he pleads with her to take a chance. But basically, it sounds like it is all just a one night stand because he wants someone to love and well, tonight I want that to be you! Not overly romantic, but a damn fine attempt at that one-night stand!!!


The B-Side is “Wild Wild Women” and here is what I said in the review…”It is another rocker and I swear that guitar riff is from “Slow Ride” by Foghat. It sounds very familiar. And so does the song, familiar like every other band out there is doing. Nothing special about this one either. An album that started with a roar has ended with a whimper”. Okay, I don’t think I have anything to add or detract from that statement. Still sums it up for me.

And there you have it. I hope you enjoyed that little break from the album reviews. Up next is another break, but one we hadn’t talked about yet.


The Cheap Trick Collection Series:

  1. Cheap Trick (1977)
  2. In Color (1977)
  3. Heaven Tonight (1978)
  4. Cheap Trick at Budokan (1978)
  5. Dream Police (1979)
  6. Found All The Parts (1980)
  7. All Shook Up (1980)
  8. One On One (1982)
  9. Next Position Please (1983)
  10. Standing on the Edge (1985)
  11. “Tonight It’s You” (1985) – 7″ Single (Bonus Edition)

46 thoughts on “Cheap Trick – “Tonight It’s You” (1985) – 7″ Single (The Cheap Trick Collection Series – Bonus Edition)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s