Sixx:A.M. – ‘Prayers for the Blessed, Vol. 2’ – Album Review

On the follow-up to ‘Prayers for the Damned, Vol. 1’, Sixx:A.M. is back in a little over 6 months with the ‘Prayers for the Blessed, Vol. 2’.  What I love about Sixx:A.M. is the consistency they have with the quality of songs and the album and this one is no different. There are not too many bands that are hitting on all cylinders like they currently are.

When the first song, “Barbarians (Prayers for the Blessed)”, kicks in you immediately know the band has picked up right where Vol. 1 left off.  The heavy ass drums and guitar just screams ‘CRANK ME UP!!!’

The first single off the album is “We Will Not Go Quietly” and is more of what I have come to expect and salivate over. James Michael’s vocals are outstanding and you can’t complain about the greatness of DJ Ashba’s guitar work either.

 “Wolf at Your Door” comes roaring in and continues the onslaught of sensory overload.  These first three songs could have easily been part of Vol. 1 and help bring a cohesive feel to both the albums.

The next song, “Maybe It’s Time” changes up a little and slows things down.  The style and tone of the song are different from what we have heard so far, but it works well and is a nice change of pace.  I like the emotion in James’ voice and I actually feel emotion in the notes of the guitar playing.  Perfect combination.

The power and loudness comes right back in a strong way with “The Devil’s Coming”.  The drum work by Dustin Steinke on this song is top notch, the chorus is really catchy, and another great guitar solo (bass work is good of course, that goes without saying Mr. Sixx).  What more could you want?!

The first misstep on the album is the instrumental guitar solo by DJ Ashba called “Catacombs”.  It is a great solo, but the problem for me is the sound doesn’t fit with the tone and sonic feel of the album.  It disrupts the flow of the album.  On it’s own, great!  Included with the album, delete!

The disappointment doesn’t last long as “That’s Gonna Leave A Scar” brings the heat right back to the album.  Probably my favorite song on the album and an overall great rock song. I can’t never talk enough about the musicianship by these guys, it is mind blowing.

The first WTF moment comes with the cover of Badfinger’s song “Without You”.  They do a good job on the song, but why???  What was the point??  They don’t make it their own and for me it doesn’t feel like it belongs on the album.  I think they needed one more song and they just did a cover.  Who knows why.

The next song, “Suffocate”, brings them back to my good graces. I love how it starts off slow and then comes back with full rock force.  And then comes “Riot in My Head” and I know we are ending well.  Another of my favorites on the album.  There is something about the song writing and the lyrics of all their songs that I find so incredible.  I think it is the dark overtones of them all.  I don’t know what that says about me.

The last song on the album, “Helicopters”, is my last disappointment.  There is nothing wrong with the song other than it didn’t connect with me.  No real chorus so it was hard for me to grab hold to it.

Track Listing:

  1. “Barbarians (Prayers for the Blessed)” – Keeper
  2. “We Will Not Go Quietly” – Keeper
  3. “Wolf at Your Door” – Keeper
  4. “Maybe It’s Time” – Keeper
  5. “The Devils’ Coming” – Keeper
  6. “Catacombs” – Delete
  7. “That’s Gonna Leave a Scar” – Keeper
  8. “Without You” – Delete
  9. “Suffocate” – Keeper
  10. “Riot in My Head” – Keeper
  11. “Helicopters” – Delete

8 keepers out 11 songs – 73% (3.6 out 5 stars).  Despite the 72%, I really loved this album. Overall I don’t think it is as good as ‘Prayers for the Damned, Vol. 1’  as I feel those songs were a tad bit better (check out the review at the link). But it is better than what most bands can do.  I do highly recommend you pick up both albums because as a 2CD set, it is one helluva ride.  I hope they are around for a long time to come.


8 thoughts on “Sixx:A.M. – ‘Prayers for the Blessed, Vol. 2’ – Album Review

        1. That is why I love music. People’s opinions on bands and singers can be so different, but it’s cool. Differing opinions in politics brings out the worst in people and we have seen first hand how bad that can be.

          Liked by 1 person

  1. I’m with Mikey on this one as well. I just have hard time wrapping my head around solo projects! I’ve been duped over the years and one big stinker was Contraband….Gah!
    At the opposite end of the spectrum the 1978 solo release by Ace Frehley is one of my all time favs as he totally stepped up …..even his Frehleys Comet stuff was dicey at best….
    Bruce Dickinson with his solo stuff stepped up as well…..

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s