The Dirty Clergy – Rattlesnake – Album Spotlight

The Dirty Clergy release their new album,’Rattlesnake’, today (July 1st).  They are five guys from Winfield, Alabama who have come together to deliver a solid, straight-up rock album.  ‘Rattlesnake’ is their second album and released on Happy Daze Records.

The production quality of this album is what I would call simple.  There are no extraneous, unnecessary pieces added to the production.  It is raw, gritty and has a live quality to the whole album.  You can hear the drums, the guitars, and the bass equally.  Nothing overpowers the other and makes for a great full sound.

Pub 1

The vocals are at times haunting on songs like “I” and then powerful, full on rock mode on songs like “Cocaine, NV” (the title of the album comes from this song).  Brad White’s vocals are definitely the focus of the album, but every band member shines throughout.

The first two tracks “Decades” and “All I Need” are a great way to open the album and tell you exactly what to expect for the rest of the album.  The songs show you that the bands roots are in the past and they are pulling from many different decades of influences from the 60’s to the 90’s.  The simplicity of the songs is a definite throwback to a time when songs were not overly complicated with extra production and I find that to be refreshing.

Two of my favorite songs on the album are “Strange Love” and “Ghost Stories”.  They both rock out and give a little more punch than some of the other songs.  A couple other standouts on the album are “Do or Die” and “Give Me Your Reason”.  The general flow of the album is nicely paced with a great mixture of slower songs and faster, harder paced songs.  I don’t like making comparisons to any other bands as they are their own band and too many influences to narrow down a great comparison.

After their moderate success with the song “Shake, Shake” back in 2014, they have come back with a strong answer to if they could continue that success.  ‘Rattlesnake’ is a solid album and shows they can continually craft great, rock songs.  It is definitely worth a listen so give it a try.

Band Members:

  • Brad White – Vocals
  • Brian Manasco – Guitar/Keys
  • Joshua Pope – Guitar
  • Ky Cater – Bass
  • Cody Moorehead – Drums

Track Listing:

  1. Decades
  2. All I Need
  3. Gold
  4. I
  5. Strange Love
  6. Do or Die
  7. Nothing
  8. Ghost Stories
  9. Cocaine, NV
  10. Lie
  11. Give Me Your Reason
  12. Out of Time
  13. All the Money
  14. Summer Days (Ft. Karina Noelle)

Check them out on Facebook, Twitter or on their own website.  You can pick up the album on iTunes, Amazon and stream on most services.



13 thoughts on “The Dirty Clergy – Rattlesnake – Album Spotlight

  1. Was not familiar with Dirty Clergy (love the name) but instantly liked “All I Need.” I listened to more of their songs on Spotify and they’re really good. “Decades” sounds like it could be a song by The Killers. I agree that “Do or Die”, “Strange Love” and “Ghost Stories” are all standout. Nice review!

    Liked by 1 person

          1. I’ve been asked a number of times to review songs or albums too, both by artists or their PR person. I’m working on one at the moment, and have another to do next. Would not have chosen a few on my own. Do you ever turn any down?


              1. So far, I haven’t felt the need to refuse anyone, and always try to keep an open mind and find something positive to write. If nothing else, doing my blog has broadly expanded my music tastes, and made me much more accepting of different styles and genres I previously didn’t care for. Hip-hop and hardcore metal to name just two.

                Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s