Dee Snider – ‘We Are The Ones’ – Album Review

When I heard Dee Snider was finally releasing another solo album, I was actually excited.  I had recently become a fan of his and his former band Twisted Sister after watching their documentary “We Are Twisted F#@king Sister”.  I had heard of them, of course, and love all their hits; however, I garnered a whole new respect for the band and how much they busted their hump and earned every ounce of success they had.

My expectations for the album were relatively low due mainly to his solo release ‘Dee does Broadway’.  The Twisted Sister lead singer doing Broadway tunes?  I couldn’t wrap my head around that one.  So, imagine my delight when I hit play.  It was beyond anything I was expecting and it was full of surprises.  The album rocked out, but was much more radio friendly for most of the songs.  There was enough variety to keep your interest and not disappoint any fans.Damon Ranger was the producer and helped Dee craft a great all around album.

The album opened with the title song “We Are the Ones” which to no surprise was a rocker and exactly what I was hoping he would deliver.  The next song, “Over Again” which is another old school rocker.  The chorus is very catchy and you will catch yourself singing it Over and Over and Over Again (sorry…had to go there).

Then the album gave me my surprise.  Dee switched it up with a very modern rock sound on “Close to You”. The stalkeresque song had a darker edge and his voice takes a real creepy tone (in a good way).  The guitar solo was one of the best on the album.

He has two more songs with the modern rock sound that are both incredible.  “Head Like A Hole” has an heavy, industrial sound and Dee’s voice is perfect for this style of music.  One of my favorites on the album.  The other modern rock sound is on “So What” which is an acoustic song telling be to F#ck Off with a great big middle finger in the air…as the lyrics say.

There is one rock anthem on the album, “Rule the World” that would have fit nicely back in the 80’s.  “Crazy for Nothing” is another uptempo, radio friendly song that will get stuck in your head.  “Believe” is just like “Crazy for Nothing”.  I didn’t like it first for that reason, but it grew on me with each listen and now it is a keeper.  The one bad spot for me is where he goes completely dance pop on “Superhero” with the computerized drums.  It is too cheesy and I am glad this was as bad as it got.

The nice treat on the album was a slowed down version of “We’re Not Gonna Take It”.  It is a stripped down version with just Dee and a piano.  The video was directed by Criss Angel and was used to help raise money for charity (see this post).

Track Listing:

  1. “We Are The Ones” – Keeper
  2. “Over Again” – Keeper
  3. “Close to You” – Keeper
  4. “Rule the World” – Keeper
  5. “We’re Not Gonna Take It” – Keeper
  6. “Crazy for Nothing” – Keeper
  7. “Believe” – Keeper
  8. “Head Like A Hole” – Keeper
  9. “Superhero” – Delete
  10. “So What” – Keeper

9 keepers out 10 songs – 90% (4.5 out 5 stars).  Dee Snider’s “We Are the Ones” is definitely worth the purchase.  I am overly impressed with this effort and you would be hard-pressed to find someone that has been around as long as he has and still put out great music. If you are a fan of Dee, than this is a no-brainer to add to your collection.  If you are not, listen to this and you will be.


3 thoughts on “Dee Snider – ‘We Are The Ones’ – Album Review

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s